Workspaces

Step-by-step instructions for creating new Workspaces to organize conversations

A well-organized workspace reduces stress and clutter, while increasing efficiency and productivity. When everything has its place, you know exactly where to find it, exactly when you need it. That’s why we created Workspaces, to give you a clean, organized place to manage all of the moving parts for each of your ongoing projects.

Every Workstorm member starts out with a default “Home” workspace, which can be found near the top of the left side-bar or within the Workspaces menu (). 

If you joined Workstorm through a company account, your Home workspace will automatically contain your company Announcements channel and your first private message conversation with the person who invited you to Workstorm (unless you were invited by the Site Administrator). If you joined Workstorm as an independent external user, you will only see the private message conversation with your inviter.

This Home workspace is designed to help you view multiple conversations in one dashboard. Over time, the number of conversations you have will grow and you may outgrow this initial home workspace. At that point, it’s time to start creating and defining additional Workspaces.

Adding new workspaces enables you to organize many ongoing private and team conversations into broad, related categories or topics, such as by project or by client. For more ideas on how to organize multiple Workspaces, check out our article on how to make Workspaces work for you.

In reality, there’s no right or wrong way to organize your Workspaces. What’s important is doing what works best for you.

Now, let’s take a look at how to create a new Workspace.

Creating a Workspace

To create a new Workspace, click on the green plus icon at the top left of the side bar and select New Workspace

Name your new Workspace and choose if you would like it to appear on the left side-bar for quick access from anywhere within the platform.

After creating your new Workspace, the Edit Workspace menu will open automatically. Here you can add conversations by toggling them on, choose a grid style layout, add an icon to represent your Workspace on the left side-bar and rename it. If you don’t want to see this Workspace on your left-side bar and only make it visible within the Workspaces menu, toggle off “Favorite.” Moreover, if you don’t want to see any unread message counters show up to the right of this Workspace’s name in the left-side bar, toggle off “Show Unread Message Counter.”

You can access this Edit Workspace menu at any time by clicking the green gear icon.

If you don’t have many conversations to toggle on and into your Workspace, consider joining or starting a new team or invite new members to collaborate with you on Workstorm.

When it comes to the layout of your Workspace, some members prefer to view their workplace conversations all at once in a 2 x 3 tiled grid, while others prefer a 1 x 3 vertical column or a 2 x 1 horizontal list. We recommend testing out a few different layouts before settling on the one that works best for you.

Once you have chosen the right layout, you may reorganize the order and arrangement of your conversations within that layout. Simply click, hold, and drag a conversation tile to a different location within the layout.

If you need to delete your Workspace, select the green gear icon and click on Delete Workspace at the bottom right of the Edit Workspace menu. 

Workspaces are designed to help you stay organized in whichever way works best for you. Create as many or as few workspaces as you like. Categorize them however you want. Customize your layouts, displays and message alerts to make your workspaces efficient for you. Still not sure what works best for you? Check out our article on making Workspaces work for you for more ideas, tips and best practices.

Updated on September 16, 2019

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles