1. Home
  2. Help Articles
  3. Workstorm Fully Featured Spotlight: Workspaces

Workstorm Fully Featured Spotlight: Workspaces

Step-by-step instructions for creating new Workspaces to organize your Messages.

A well-organized workspace reduces stress and clutter, while increasing efficiency and productivity. When everything has its place, you know exactly where to find it, exactly when you need it. That’s why we created Workspaces, to give you a clean, organized place to manage all of the moving parts for each of your ongoing projects.

Workspaces are designed to help you view multiple conversations in one dashboard. Over time, the number of conversations you have will grow and you may outgrow your first workspace.

Adding new workspaces enables you to organize many ongoing private and team messages into broad, related categories or topics, such as by project or by client. For more ideas on how to organize multiple Workspaces, check out our article on how to make Workspaces work for you.

In reality, there’s no right or wrong way to organize your Workspaces. What’s important is doing what works best for you.

Now, let’s take a look at how to create a new Workspace.

Creating a Workspace

To create a new Workspace, click on the blue New+ icon at the top left of your side bar and select Workspace

Name your new Workspace and click Create .

After creating your new Workspace, the “Edit Workspace” menu will open automatically in a new tab. Here you can choose a particular grid style layout, add an icon to represent your Workspace and rename it.

To add private and team messages or company announcements to your Workspace switch to Messages in the Edit Workspace menu and toggle on your desired messages.

You can access this Edit Workspace menu at any time by clicking the green gear icon to the right of the Workspace’s name near your top bar in Workstorm.

When it comes to the layout of your Workspace, some members prefer to view their workplace conversations all at once in a 2 x 3 tiled grid, while others prefer a 1 x 3 vertical column or a 2 x 1 horizontal list. We recommend testing out a few different layouts before settling on the one that works best for you.

Once you have chosen the right layout, you may reorganize the order and arrangement of your conversations within that layout. Simply click, hold, and drag a conversation tile to a different location within the layout.

If you need to delete your Workspace, select the Workspace settings gear aforementioned and click on Delete Workspace at the bottom right of the “Edit Workspace” menu. 

Workspaces are designed to help you stay organized in whichever way works best for you. Create as many or as few workspaces as you like. Categorize them however you want. Customize your layouts, displays and notification preferences to make your workspaces efficient for you.

Updated on March 10, 2022

Related Articles