Teams

How to use Team Messages

Detailed instructions for using Team Messages for group collaboration

Group collaboration is critical to the success of any complex mission, project or task. With Team Messages, you are able to collaborate amongst your own team or department, across departments, and even with external clients, all within the same seamless, secure platform.

Keep client work and documents confidential and contained within a Team conversation. Get your internal team aligned and regularly updating each other on ongoing projects, deadlines and priorities, without filling up each other’s inboxes. Coordinate project members across multiple departments or geographies, keeping everyone updated on progress, needs and next steps to keep the project moving forward.

These are just some of the ways Workstorm members are using Teams to get work done seamlessly and securely. Ready to give it a try?

Sending Team Messages

Send and receive messages or files within a group by selecting Messages in the left menu, then Teams. If you are already a member of one or more teams, you will see them listed here. Click on the team name to open the conversation and send a message or file to the group, just as you would in a Private Message. All members of the group will receive your message or file.


Join a Team

You may join a team by clicking the  icon to the right of Teams in the menu bar. Here you will see a list of existing teams within your company or organization. To join, simply click the . It will change to  to show that you have joined the team. To leave a team, simply click the  so that it returns to .

Public and Private Teams

Teams can either be publicly listed, meaning they appear in the Join a team list, or they can be private, meaning they do not appear in the list. Private teams are often used for confidential projects or client-related work. To join a private team, you must be invited by the Team Administrator (i.e. the person who created the team).

Open and Approval-Required Memberships

Publicly listed teams appear in the Join a team list and will either allow open or approval-required membership. Any member can instantly join an open membership team by simply clicking the . Teams that require membership approval have a  icon beside the .

To request to join a team that requires membership approval, click the  and a membership request notification will be sent to the Team Administrator. If the Team Administrator approves your request to join, you will receive a toast, or notice, of your admission and the toggle will change to , designating that your membership has been approved. A toast will also appear if your request for access has been denied.

Create a Team

To create a new team, click the icon to the right of Teams in the menu bar. Below the Join a team list, click on the button to Create a Team. This will open a new team window. As the team’s creator, or Team Administrator, you now have the ability to name your team, add members, and designate the team settings.

To name your new team, click the  at the top of the team window. You may change the name of your team at any time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Adding and Removing Team Members

Next, add members to your team by clicking on the  icon and selecting members from the alphabetical list. To filter the list, type the first few letters of a member’s name into the search bar above.

To add a team member, simply click the  . It will change to  to show that the member has been added to your team. To remove a member from your team, simply click the  so that it returns to .

You may also choose to Invite by Email using the button below the alphabetical members list. Click Invite by Email and add the person’s email address, first name and last name to send an email invitation for the member to join your team.

When a person successfully joins your team on Workstorm, you will receive a notification and an alert. As the Team Administrator, you may add or remove team members at any time by clicking on the  icon.

Adding External Team Members

Sometimes it’s necessary to collaborate with members that are outside your company, such as a contractor, client, or agency. If a team member is external, a   icon will appear next to his or her name so that all members are aware that the person is external.

If you wish to add a new external team member to your company or organization’s Workstorm account, you may have the ability to invite external members to Workstorm and then add them to your team. The ability to invite external members is set by your company policy and your Site Administrator. Read our article on inviting external members, or check with your Site Administrator.

Assigning Team Member Roles

You may also designate additional Team Administrators to help you manage team memberships and settings. To add a Team Administrator, click on the  icon to view all team members. Click the dropdown arrow where it says Member below a member’s name. In the dropdown, you have the option to change the member’s role from Member to Admin.

Members of a team have general user functionality, including the ability to send and receive messages and share files within the group. Administrators can add or remove members and other administrators, approve or deny membership requests (if team membership requires approval), and change the team settings or name.

Settings and Notifications

To designate your team as Private or Public (i.e. whether or not it will appear in a team search), click on the  in the right toolbar. The  icon designates the team as Private, the  designates the team as Public.

If you designate the team as Public, another option will appear for Group Membership. Here you may designate the membership requirements for your Public team:

 means membership is Open – any member of your company or organization’s Workstorm account may opt to instantly join this team.

means membership Requires Approval – any member of your company or organization’s Workstorm account may submit a request to the Team Administrator for approval to join this team.

The  icon in the right toolbar enables each team member to turn on/off Notifications of new messages and activity within the team. The  icon designates that your Notifications are turned on for this particular team. Click to turn off Notifications for this team, designated by the  icon.

To delete the team, click the  icon. Only the Team Administrator(s) can delete the team.

To leave a team, click the  icon. Team members can leave a team at any time.

From access parameters to membership requirements, member roles to notifications, Team Messages can be customized to suit the collaboration needs of any group project, mission, topic, or task. Tap into Teams and see how the right kind of group collaboration can mean the difference between working hard and getting things done.

Updated on May 31, 2018

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Leave a Comment