1. Home
  2. Help Articles
  3. 1-to-1 Video Calling and Screen Sharing in Workstorm

1-to-1 Video Calling and Screen Sharing in Workstorm

Instructions for hosting and receiving one-on-one video conferences and screen sharing

At Workstorm, we understand that some business is best conducted face-to-face. Whether it’s in a meeting, over lunch, or on the golf course, complex conversations can require the use of more than just typed or auditory words. Facial expressions, voice intonation, hand gestures, posture, even thoughtful breaks or pauses in a conversation can greatly impact how messages are sent and received by others. This, in turn, can impact a person’s perceptions, beliefs and response to a given conversation.

But with busy schedules and geographically dispersed workforces, meeting face-to face isn’t always possible. With video calling and screen sharing, Workstorm users can have complex conversations efficiently and effectively when meeting face-to-face in person isn’t an option.

Start a video call

There are two ways to start a video call on Workstrom. The first way is to click on Messages in the left menu, then click on an existing private conversation, or start a new conversation by clicking on the  next to Private. Next, click on the  icon in the right menu of the conversation feed.

Another way to start a video call is through Workspaces.

If you have set up Workspaces, open the workspace that contains an existing private conversation with the member whom you wish to video conference. Next, click on the  icon in the upper right corner of the conversation tile.

When starting a video call for the first time, you may be prompted to download a WebRTC plugin for your internet browser. Please note that the WebRTC and Video Calling functionality works best on Google Chrome. The link to download the WebRTC plugin is here: Chrome WebRTC Plugin

If so, follow the prompts to install the plugin, allow Workstorm to access your camera and microphone, and permit pop-ups within your browser. Video tutorials and step-by-step instructions are also available for downloading the plugin and enabling settings. Check out that article here: 

If you do not receive a prompt, you likely already have the necessary plugin downloaded, or you are accessing Workstorm via the desktop app. Members may download the desktop app at any time.

If you are using Windows, please use this link to download the Desktop App: Windows Desktop App

If you are using Mac OS, please use this link to download the Desktop App: Mac OS Desktop App

Once your are using the desktop app or your internet browser with the WebRTC plugin installed, a video call pop-up will appear and begin calling the member. If the member does not answer, you may cancel or end the video call by closing the call window or by clicking the  icon at the bottom. The recipient will see that he or she has missed a video call from you under Recent in the left menu.

If the recipient answers the video call, and his or her camera and microphone are turned on, you will see and hear the member. If you cannot see or hear the member, remind him or her to turn on the camera and microphone and allow access to Workstorm. Turn up the volume on your computer speakers to ensure optimal sound reception.

If the recipient of the call cannot see or here you, double check your camera and microphone are turned on. Our online support team is available for help at any time, should you need it.

Answering a video call

To receive an incoming video call from another member, you must be logged in to Workstorm and have a private conversation open with the member. If this is your first time using the video call tool, be sure to follow the instructions above for downloading the WebRTC plugin and enabling settings. Once enabled, a pop-up will appear inside the conversation to notify you of an incoming video call.

To answer an incoming video call, click the blue phone icon. To decline the call, click the red phone icon.

Missed video conferences

If you are not inside the Workstorm platform when the user calls, and you have enabled Notifications, then you will receive a Notification of the incoming call on your desktop. Clicking on the notification will take you to the private conversation, where you may answer or decline the call.

If you have not enabled Notifications, you will receive a message in your Recent tab in the left menu making you aware of the missed video conference.

Sharing your screen

Once you have connected via video call, you have the option to share your screen. Click the  icon at the bottom middle of the call window to switch from camera view to screen view.

This will show the other member on the call exactly what is on your computer screen, while still hearing your voice over the microphone. You can click, type and navigate as usual, with the other member able to see and follow along.

To stop sharing your screen, simply click the  icon again to return to camera view.

Screen sharing and video calling can help members collaborate more efficiently and effectively on complex projects, discussions and business decisions. Workstorm members who integrate the use of multiple tools – including messaging, File Sharing and video calling – report the highest levels of workplace collaboration and efficiency. Ready to give it a try?

Updated on June 20, 2018

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Leave a Comment